deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Contact Us | KIT

Graphene Flagship - Standardization

The Graphene Flagship is the up to date largest research initiative funded with €1 billion by the European Commission. Its decided aim is to bring graphene from lab to fab – in only 10 years’ time. In April 2020, the Flagship transitioned into Core3 with its special focus being on innovative research to boost graphene-enabled technologies to higher technology readiness levels.

One aspect that makes companies hesitate to commit to graphene is the existence of a veritable ‘graphene zoo’. The terminology used is often vague to say the least – the materials offered as ‘graphene’ range from single-layer to multi-layer graphene, (reduced) graphene oxide, or even graphite nano-platelets. In fact, all of them will have their specific advantages and uses depending on the application. But the variation of materials offered under the same term discourages industrial buyers.

Characterisation, too, is executed by different means depending on the supplier. To show just one example: depending on the spot size used, tantamount to the sample area investigated, the resulting conductivity will either refer to the intrinsic property of a single flake, or to the extrinsic property of the whole layer including defect sites at the grain boundaries.

The NanoMat cluster focusses on harmonizing the terminology and characterisation methods to aid commercialisation of graphenic raw materials, master batches, and ultimately graphene-enabled devices. We participate as experts in international standardisation committees such as the ISO (TC229) and IEC (TC113), to drive the standardisation of graphene and related nanomaterials.

If you are interested to collaborate in a nanomaterials’ standardisation project, please do not hesitate to contact Dr. Thurid Gspann.

For further information about the Graphene Flagship, please visit:

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Kontakt | KIT

Graphene Flagship - Standardisierung

Das Graphene Flagship ist die bis heute größte Forschungsinitiative, die durch die Europäische Kommission mit 1 Milliarde Euro gefördert wird. Ausgesprochenes Ziel ist es, Graphen aus den Laboren in die Fabrikation zu befördern – from lab to fab. Und das in nur 10 Jahren. Im April 2020 begann mit Core3 die vierte Förderungsperiode, deren Hauptaugenmerk darauf liegt neue, durch Graphen erst ermöglichte Technologien anzukurbeln.

Ein Aspekt, der allerdings Firmen zögern lässt, sich auf Graphen einzulassen, ist die Existenz eines wahrhaftigen ‚Graphen Zoos‘. Die Terminologie wird oft bewusst vage verwendet – die als ‚Graphen‘ angebotenen Materialien variieren von einlagig bis mehrlagig, über Graphenoxid, bis hin zu Graphit Nanoplatelets. Und tatsächlich werden all diese Variationen je nach Anwendungsgebiet ihre Berechtigung und Vorteile haben. Aber die Ungewissheit über die unter dem gleichen Terminus angepriesenen Materialien schreckt mögliche Investoren ab.

Auch die angebotenen Materialeigenschaften unterscheiden sich je nach Anbieter und dessen eingesetzter Charakterisierungsmethode. Um nur ein Beispiel zu nennen: Je nach Größe der untersuchten Probenfläche bezieht sich die gemessene Leitfähigkeit entweder auf die intrinsischen Eigenschaften der einzelnen Graphen Flakes oder auf die extrinsischen Eigenschaften der gesamten Schicht, inklusive der Defekte an Korngrenzen.

Das NanoMat Cluster arbeitet an der Harmonisierung der Begrifflichkeiten und Messmethoden um die Kommerzialisierung von graphenischen Rohmaterialien, Masterbatches und vor allem neuartigen, durch Graphen erst ermöglichten Technologien zu unterstützen. Wir sind als Experten zu internationalen Gremien berufen, namentlich zu ISO (TC229) und IEC (TC113), um die Standardisierung von Graphen und verwandten Nanomaterialien voranzutreiben.

Wenn Sie Interesse haben, mit uns an Standardisierungsprojekten über Nanomaterialien zu arbeiten, wenden Sie sich bitte an Dr. Thurid Gspann.

Für weitere Informationen über das Graphene Flagship besuchen Sie uns bitte im Internet: